Dusting Off the Sewing Machine

A little more than a year ago, I insisted on getting a sewing machine. I had big dreams. In my head getting a sewing machine meant instant Project Runway-style clothing, comfy quilts and do-it-myself home projects. I blame my mom for my false sense of how “easy” sewing would be. For years she had effortlessly made costumes, curtains and pajama pants. So when she bought me my first sewing machine, for some reason, I thought I could do the same – wrong!

For the first few months I sewed with no patterns, no measurements and no idea what I was doing.  Finally my mom stepped in and nicely suggested I take a sewing class. So I packed up my sewing machine and green tomato pin cushion, and headed to JoAnn Fabric. Here I learned the basics: how to make a hem, how to wind a bobbin and how to read a pattern. Flash forward several more months, hours following my mom’s lead on the machine and numerous mishaps and I was back at JoAnn taking a “How to Make an Apron” class. Apron turned out great and I was re-motivated.

A few more lessons from my amazing mom, some inspiration from my Grandma and a move to New York inspired me to really dust off the machine and see what I could do. Living on a much smaller budget than I am used to, coupled with a desperate need to decorate my apartment, I decided to start with a few small home decorating projects. First on the list: A Folding Chair Pinafore Slipcover. Yes, I’m going to try to make a folding chair look chic.

To make things interesting, I had to leave the sewing table in Minnesota, so the Folding Chair Pinafore Slipcover will be assembled on a combination of the wood floor and two tv trays. Clearly, I’m up for a challenge. First things first – fabric. With the help of the boyfriend, I found some great black and white paisley material and got to work. With fresh confidence I got to sewing the pinafore and to make a long story short, I ended up with a 52″ loop instead of a 52″ straight piece of material. Not sure how I looped, but I did, and now to find the seam ripper. Looks like this completed project will be a delayed until tomorrow. Pictures to come…..

One thought on “Dusting Off the Sewing Machine

  1. Pistol Peggy Stach February 25, 2010 at 2:57 am Reply

    Katie, as a fellow sewer, I certainly appreciate what you have done with you sewing projects. Keep it up. Love yah, P

Leave a Reply

