Look Mom, I’m Eating Greens!

Image

My mom’s first 5k

For the past year (or my whole life), my mom has been encouraging me to eat more veggies, especially greens. So when she was diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time, I figured the least I could do was start eating more cancer-fighting foods.

Like the amazing person she is, my mom beat cancer again with even more strength and grace than the first time. At this point, I figured I no longer had an excuse…she beat cancer, I’ll eat veggies. Today I walked through Trader Joe’s and decided to experiment with one of my least favorite greens – brussel sprouts.

Image

Thanks to my friend Alex, who once force-fed me some really good brussel sprouts, I was confident I could create some sort of delicious “green” veggie dish. And, I’m happy to share…I was right. Not sure if it’s my cooking or the fact that bacon + parmesan cheese can make almost anything good, but the brussel sprouts turned out great. After sending my mom a picture (she’s really proud), I thought I’d share the recipe:

Parmesan Bacon Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients:

  • Brussel Sprouts – I used a whole bag from Trader Joes
  • Olive Oil for sauteing
  • Handful of Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 tbsp Bacon Bits
  • Garlic Powder – to taste
  • Salt – to taste
  • Pepper – to taste

Step one: Season brussel sprouts with salt, pepper and garlic powder

Step two: Saute brussel sprouts in olive oil for 18 – 20 minutes (until tender), stir occassionally

Step three: Last two minutes of cooking, mix in bacon bits and parmesan cheese

Serve warm and feel good about eating greens!

Here’s the final product:

Image

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Look Mom, I’m Eating Greens!

  1. Anna, Fitscally Responsible February 19, 2012 at 9:17 pm Reply

    This looks really good, Katie – thanks for sharing! Brussel sprouts are one of my favorite vegetables 🙂

    • ktmiller19 February 19, 2012 at 9:25 pm Reply

      I am trying to eat them more and think I finally found a way to enjoy them. Do you have any other brussel sprouts recipes to share? Would love to hear them!

  2. Pat Miller February 20, 2012 at 9:42 am Reply

    Looks really yummy except for the bacon! I bet it is just as good without?!!!

Leave a Reply

