Grown Up Grilled Cheese – Restaurant Review

Image

I’m a little behind in sharing reviews of several Lower East Side restaurants I’ve tried lately, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been well fed. After finishing a 10-mile run two weeks ago, I decided it was time to try “Little Muenster,” which is basically a grown up grilled cheese restaurant, or “super fancy grilled cheese,” as they say.

Image

Located on Stanton, this little restaurant is easy to miss but hard to forget. With a menu filled with various types of grilled cheese, rotating specials and soups/salads, all which can be washed down with a beer, glass of wine or soda, it is understandable why they are always busy. The setting is cute, simple and smells of delicious cheese.

Image

After careful deliberation, I ordered the Asiago/Parmesan/Muenster/Butternut Squash/Sage Brown Sugar grilled cheese and a Wedge Salad. I figured after 10 miles, I deserved both… I got them to go and contemplated sprinting the last few blocks home because my bag smelled so good. I decided against sprinting and settled into a quick walk, up four flights of stairs (another LES difference – no elevator), and directly to the table. Needless to say, it was worth the wait. My grilled cheese was still hot, with warm cheese pushing at the edges of the bread.

Image

The flavors mixed together really well and made for a delicious grown up grilled cheese. I liked the light sugar taste and how it accompanied the three different cheese flavors. The butternut squash gave it an unexpected but welcoming taste. I would definitely recommend this sandwich, and probably the other ones even though I haven’t tasted them…..yet! The wedge salad was also fresh and good, which made for the perfect side to my grilled cheese.

Image

All in all, it was a great experience and worth a trip if you are in the neighborhood. Paying between $8 – $10 for a grilled cheese seems a little expensive, but if you are craving more than american cheese on bread, it is money well spent. I will be going back to try the rest of the menu and plan to bring visiting guests this summer, which means we’ll be washing our grilled cheese down with a beer.

Image

Check out the menu:

Image

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Grown Up Grilled Cheese – Restaurant Review

  1. Pat Miller March 31, 2012 at 12:09 pm Reply

    My mouth is watering, hope to try it soon! Love grown up grilled cheese!!!

  2. anna @ fitscally responsible March 31, 2012 at 1:43 pm Reply

    I love grilled cheese. I will have to try this place out when I visit New York (whenever that may be)!

Leave a Reply

