Pause…..At the Pause Cafe

I’ve been meaning to try Pause Cafe, a tiny neighborhood coffee shop, that I walk by on a regular basis. Usually it is extremely packed, so for weeks I walked by but didn’t feel like fighting crowds and kept going. But today, after running 12 miles, I decided I could conquer anything and I went in…after a short pause. The space is so small that I had to awkwardly discuss with the other girl walking in beside me who would go first. I think she recognized my need for instant refueling because she let me go ahead. Inside I found a few small tables, a huge counter filled with pastries and an extremely pleasant staff. Again, I was already impressed with another one of the Lower East Side’s too small, but cozy, friendly and full of energy restaurants. And in true LES fashion, the food was delicious too! The owner is from Morocco and did a great job of incorporation hints of the culture in the food and atmosphere.

After contemplating whether I wanted to order a big meal and skip the trip to the Noodle Bar that I had planned all week, I decided to eat small with a promise to come back soon. I ordered a fresh orange juice, strawberry and pineapple smoothie, and a cup of butternut squash with apple soup to-go. Both were delicious and exactly what I was looking for. Will definitely be going back soon to try a sandwich, coffee and a pastry.

While the place is small, don’t let is discourage you from going in. But plan on getting your food to-go and enjoying it along the East River or in the comfort of your apartment/hotel. I’ll share recommendations on the sandwiches from my next trip soon. Also will share my thoughts on the delicious-looking pastries, which according to the website are handmade by the owner’s friend in her kitchen.

*Sorry the pictures didn’t turn out very well, my mind/body was recovering from my run

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

