Crockpot Shredded Chicken Tacos

To-date I’ve pinned more than 1,200 recipes on my “bon appetit” board on Pinterest. Of these recipes I’ve tried maybe four. Yesterday the temperature in New York City was a blazing 100 degrees, so I decided it was a good time to try a Pinterest crockpot recipe, since turning on the oven wasn’t an option. Β I also wanted to enjoy a cold beer with my dinner, so I thought a good Mexican dish was most ideal. I tried a recipe for crockpot shredded chicken tacos that was originally posted on Tasty Kitchen.

The recipe was one of the easiest I’ve ever tried. Spray the crockpot with non-stick spray, put 6 frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts in the bottom, top with a 16 ounce jar of salsa and an envelope of taco seasoning (I used hot but any would be good.) Stir everything together to mix seasoning and salsa, and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-6 hours. When done cooking, the chicken should easily shred with a fork. Β The result is juicy, delicious, flavorful shredded chicken that is perfect for taco night. Serve on tortillas with your favorite toppings…I used what I had in the kitchen (black beans, cheese, guac and hot sauce) and enjoy!

I was a bit skeptical about how this would turn out because the recipe only called for three ingredients. However, don’t be fooled, they really were amazing! I will definitely be making this recipe again soon. The plan was to have leftovers and try the shredded chicken on a bun with some avocado, but the tacos were just too good and we consumed them all. Luckily the recipe is cheap, quick and easy, so it will be made often. The original recipe recommended using the leftovers for Tortilla soup, which I’ll also be trying. If you try the leftovers in any other way, please share in the comments!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

